SCAR Gazetteer Information: Each place can have one or more entries in the SCAR Composite Gazetteer, dependant on its origin. By viewing an individual entry, you may see multiple references to the same place. SCAR uses a more general feature type coding, so each place will, in general, have multiple feature types.

Showing all 5 place names.

Name Latitude Longitude Feature Type
Danebrog, Iles (BEL) 65° 03' 00.0" S 64° 08' 00.0" W Island
Name ID: 104914 Place ID: 3319

Adrien de Gerlache reçut beaucoup d'aides du Danemark.

Dannebrog Islands (GBR) 65° 02' 00.0" S 64° 06' 00.0" W Island
Name ID: 108424 Place ID: 3319

in N Wilhelm Archipelago (q.v.), Graham Coast, including Mumm Islands, Rollet Island and Rallier Island. These islands, together with the larger Booth Island, Hovgaard Island and Petermann Island (q.v.), were named collectively Kaiser Wilhelm Inseln after Kaiser Wilhelm II (Petermann, map, 1875b); sighted by BeAE in February 1898, when the name Îles Dannebrog was applied to the same islands after the Danish national flag, in recognition of support received by the expedition from Denmark (Lecointe, map, 1899). The latter name with its equivalents was gradually extended to include all the numerous small islands to W of the three main islands. Dannebrog Islands (BA chart 1238, viii.1900; APC, 1955, p.8; [referring to the islands as now defined and Myriad Islands] BA chart 3572, 25.vii.1958). Isola Danebrog [sic] (Gerlache, 1902a, end map). Isole Denebrog [sic] (Gerlache, 1902a). Îles Danebrog (Lecointe, 1903, Carte 5). Îles Dannebrog, referring to all islands W of Lemaire Channel and including Argentine Islands (Ar towski, 1908, p.29). Danebrogs [sic]-Eilanden (Ruys, 1905, p.114). Kaiser Wilh In (Nordenskjöld, 1911b, p.56, Fig.20). Dannebrogs Öyane (HA chart, 1927). Danebrogøene (Aagaard, 1934, p.479). Groupe Dannenbrog [sic], Îles Danenbrog [sic] or Îles Kaiser Wilhelm (France. SHM, 1937, p.407). Islas Dannebrog (Rymill and others, 1943, map facing p.96; Pierrou, 1970, p.293; Chile. IHA, 1974, p.92). Îles du Kaiser Wilhelm, Kaiser Wilhelm II Islands, as rejected names (USBGN, 1951, p.16). Grupo Dannebrog (Argentina. MM, 1957a, p.140). Islotes Dannebrog (Argentina. MM, 1957a, p.2). Following survey of the area by an RN Hydrographic Survey Unit from HMS Protector, 1957-58, the name Dannebrog Islands was restricted to the small islands lying NW of Booth Island, not including Vedel Islands (q.v.) to the S and Myriad Islands (q.v.) to the W (APC, 1959a, p.5; BA chart 3572, 12.viii.1960). Ostrova Dannebrog (Soviet Union. MMF chart, 1961). Islas del Grupo Dannebrog (Chile. DNH, 1962, p.168).

Dannebrog Islands (USA) 65° 03' 00.0" S 64° 08' 00.0" W Island
Name ID: 124092 Place ID: 3319

Group of islands and rocks lying between the Wauwermans Islands and Vedel Islands in the Wilhelm Archipelago. The Wilhelm Archipelago was first sighted and named by a German expedition under Dallmann, 1873-74. It was resighted and named Dannebrog Islands by the BelgAE, 1897-99, under Gerlache, in appreciation of support given to Gerlache by Denmark. Dallmann's original naming has been retained for the archipelago, and the name Dannebrog restricted to the smaller group here described.

Dannebrog, islas (ARG) 65° 05' 00.0" S 64° 10' 00.0" W Island
Name ID: 100619 Place ID: 3319

Dannebrog, Islas (CHL) 65° 04' 00.0" S 64° 08' 00.0" W Island
Name ID: 105403 Place ID: 3319

Fueron descubiertas por la Expedición Alemana de 1873-1874, al mando de Eduard Dallmann, quien las llamó islas Kaiser Wilhelm. Posteriormente, fueron levantadas por la Expedición Antártica Belga de 1897-1899, al mando del teniente Adrien de Gerlache, quien las llamó islas Dannebrog en reconocimiento del apoyo que recibió de Dinamarca. El nombre puesto por el teniente Adrien de Gerlache ha prevalecido sobre el original debido a que ha tenido gran aceptación y su uso se ha generalizado. Islas situadas al SW del cabo Renard, formando la ribera S del estrecho Bismarck, separadas del continente por el canal Lemaire y de las islas Argentine por el paso Francés, frente a la costa occidental de la península Tierra de O'Higgins. Grupo de islas que esta formada por tres islas principales: isla Booth, isla Hovgaard e isla Petermann, y numerosas islas menores, islotes y rocas que cubren una superficie de un diámetro aproximado de 13 millas.

Showing all 5 place names.

The SCAR Composite Gazetteer is hosted by the Australian Antarctic Data Centre. The information in the footer below pertains to the AADC web site.